The Team

The Zentrum am Berg is managed by the University of Leoben as an independent department and is under the direction of Prof. Dr. Robert Galler. Altogether, the Zentrum am Berg offers not only infrastructure but also an experienced team in the fields of geotechnics, tunnelling and training and continuing education in underground infrastructure.

Prof. Dr. Robert Galler

Head of Department

From 1997 to 2007 he worked with GEOCONSULT, an international consultant in the field of underground constructions. He has experience in numerous national and international research and consulting projects. Since the year of 2000 Robert Galler is Member of the management board of ÖGG – Austrian Society for Geomechanics; since 2005 he is the Austrian representative of the ITA – International Tunnelling Association. Since 2013 Robert Galler is Chairman of ITA-CET, the committee on education and training within the ITA.

Ing. Bernhard Reinwald

Safety officer

Bernhard Reinwald completed his Matura in the raw material technology department at the HTL Leoben in 2018. After completing his basic military service at Jägerbatallion 18 in St. Michael i.O. he is responsible for safety and the operation at the Zentrum am Berg at the Montanuniversität Leoben.

Dipl.-Ing. Robert Wenighofer

 

DI Robert Wenighofer has been a research assistant at the Chair of Subsurface Engineering since 2014 and has had a professional background of surveying and mining surveying since 1989 (DI Umlauf, ZT OG Loschnigg-Dachsberger). His professional and scientific areas are near field photogrammetry, laser scanning, CAD and mining projects. He contributes to numerous scientific projects of the Chair of Subsurface Engineering.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Marlene Villeneuve

 

Marlène Villeneuve completed her PhD in 2008 at Queen’s University, in Canada, after which she spent two years working as a tunnel engineer for McMillan Jacobs Associates in the USA and Australia. From 2010-2020 she was a lecturer, senior lecturer and finally an Associate Professor in rock mechanics at the University of Canterbury, New Zealand. She joined the Chair of Subsurface Engineering in 2020 and focuses on teaching and research in the fields of rock mechanics and numerical modelling.

Michael Mrazek

 

After completing his mechanical engineering apprenticeship and many years of professional experience in this field, Michael supports the team at the Zentrum am Berg in all technical matters.

Inz.-Mech. Ktn Aliaksei Patsekha

 

Obtained his educational background in Technology, Equipment and Automation of Mechanical Engineering and Prevention and Elimination of Emergencies at the universities of Belarus. In 2017 completed a doctoral degree (degree of a Candidate of Technical Sciences) in Fire and Industrial Safety at the University of Civil Protection of the Ministry for Emergency Situations of the Republic of Belarus. Since June 2020 Aliaksei Patsekha works as a research associate at the Chair of Subsurface Engineering. His research interests lie in the field of Fire Dynamics and Tunnel Fire Safety.

Ing. Jörg Krainz

 

From 1993 to 1997, Jörg Krainz worked as a skilled worker (paper technician) at Brigl & Bergmeister in Niklasdorf. From 1998 to 2009, Jörg Krainz was employed at RHI Magnesita in the Technology Center Leoben, in the physics department. His tasks were; Investigations on refractory products, further development of test procedures and participation in R&D projects. After attending the evening school for mechanical engineering and industrial engineering, Jörg Krainz is employed as a laboratory manager at the University of Leoben at the Department of Subsurface Engineering.

Dipl.-Ing. Erik Schuller

 

Erik Schuller is a graduate of mining engineering at the Montanuniversitaet Leoben. He has been a research associate since 2004 and Senior Lecturer at the Chair of Subsurface Engineering since 2010. In addition to working on numerous projects, Erik Schuller is primarily involved in teaching with a focus on soil mechanics and numerical simulations of geotechnical problems.

Ing. Peter Schwab

Expert advisor

With his many years of civil engineering experience, Peter Schwab supported the team during the entire construction phase of the ZaB and is now at the side of the entire staff as a consultant and trainer in all subject-related issues.

Patrizia Gäbler

 

Patrizia Gäbler has been working as a project assistant at the Chair of Subsurface Engineering since 1.12.2022. Her task is to support the project managers and the team in projects.

 

 

 

 

Aurora Camacho

 

Aurora Camacho, a Bachelors student at Montan University Leoben, has been assisting the team at the Department of Subsurface Engineering as a student assistant since the summer semester of 2022, supporting ongoing projects and other pending tasks.

Aliaa Hammoud

 

Aliaa Hammoud holds a BSc in Geology from the American University of Beirut, in Lebanon and MSc in Petroleum Production Engineering from the University of Leeds, in UK. In 2022, She joined the chair of subsurface engineering as a University Assistant working towards her PhD. Her research interest lie in the field of Drilling Engineering, Well Logging, Geothermal energy and Machine Learning.

Arsham Karsh A. Moayedi Far

 

Arsham is employed as a Research Assistant (RA) in the Chair of Subsurface Engineering. His primary focus is on studying the geo-mechanical, environmental, and economic aspects of H2 geo-storages. Arsham holds a B.Sc. degree in mining engineering. Additionally, he obtained an M.Sc. degree from TMU in tunnel and underground spaces and possesses extensive expertise in numerical modelling and skilles in performance-based assessment of structures, as well as AI and ML techniques. Furthermore, Arsham has hands-on experience conducting laboratory tests on various types of FRC samples.

Samira Tourey

 

Samira Tourey is a bachelor student at the Montanuniversität Leoben in the field of raw materials engineering and has been at the Chair of Subsurface Engineering since fall 2023. As a student assistant, she is involved in various projects and also assists with other activities at the chair.

Daniel Schneider

 

As a graduate of a technical college for mechanical and mineral resource engineering and subsequent training as a paramedic, Daniel Schneider started his Master's degree in Geotechnics & Tunneling in 2022 and has been supporting the team at the Subsurface Engineering Institute and the Zentrum am Berg as a student assistant ever since. He gained practical experience in the site supervision of the Semmering Base Tunnel in Gloggnitz and is currently working on topics related to digitization in tunnelling as well as excavation material management.

 

Dipl.-Ing. Alexandros Evangelatos

 

As a research assistant at the Chair of Subsurface Engineering, Alexandros Evangelatos has been engaged in teaching and research since November 2022. After completing his master's degree in Geotechnical Engineering and Tunnel Construction at the Montan University Leoben, he is focusing on alternative reinforcement forms for tunnel construction in his dissertation, particularly steel and plastic fiber-reinforced concrete linings.

Dipl.-Ing. Elisabeth Hauzinger

 

Elisabeth Hauzinger graduated in 2021 with a degree in Applied Geosciences from the Montanuniversität Leoben and has since been supporting the team at the Chair of Subsurface Engineering as a research assistant in the field of sustainability in underground construction. For her dissertation, she is primarily investigating new and sustainable applications for excavated materials.

DI Dr. Gerhard Pittino

 

Engineering education at the Higher Technical Education Institute Villach, studies in civil engineering and graduation at the Technical University of Graz (TUG). Since 1993 at the Montanuniversität Leoben (MUL) as a research assistant and lecturer. Lecturer in “Foundation Engineering and Soil Mechanics” at the Kärnten University of Applied Sciences in 1997/98. Promotion in mining sciences at the MUL (Load-bearing behavior of the overall system: Alpine salt rock – cavern system – leaching residue) Research focus: long-term material behavior of geomaterials; experiments, parameter identification and numerical calculations.

Christoph Mörtinger

 

Christoph Mörtinger is a student assistant at the Chair of Subsurface Engineering. He graduated from the HTL Krems in Civil Engineering in 2018 and began studying Mineral Resources Engineering at the Montanuniversität Leoben in 2019. Since April 2023, he has been supporting the entire team in various research projects.

Dr.mont. Mario Weitzer

 

Mario Weitzer comes from St. Peter Freienstein (next to Leoben) and he studied mathematics at the University of Graz. He completed his PhD in mathematics in 2015 within the FWF doctoral program "Discrete Mathematics" at the University of Leoben. Before he joined the Chair of Subsurface Engineering in March 2024, he conducted research within his FWF stand-alone project "Arithmetic Dynamical Systems, Polynomials, and Polytopes" on the eponymous subjects at the Graz University of Technology and the University of Leoben. Today he works in the fields of 3d-simulation, virtual reality, and machine learning.

Marco Huymajer

 

Marco Huymajer completed his Master's in Electrical Engineering and Information Technology at TU Wien and worked in software development. As a research assistant at the Chair of Subsurface Engineering, he works on several projects in the digitalization of tunneling. His research interests lie in applying data modeling and data science to problems in civil engineering and tunneling.

Ranzhu Wei

 

Ranzhu Wei has a bachelor degree of Safety engineering in China University of Geoscience and a master degree of environmental health and safety in National University of Singapore. She is now a PhD candidate at Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria. Her research focuses on reducing respirable dust concentration during tunnel construction using forced ventilation.

Sophie Neuhold

 

Sophie Neuhold, Bachelor student at the University of Leoben, has been supporting the Chair of Subsurface Engineering and the team in various projects and tasks as a student assistant since summer 2022.

Das Team

Das Zentrum am Berg wird von der Montanuniversität Leoben als eigenständiges Department geführt und steht unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Robert Galler. Insgesamt bietet das Zentrum am Berg neben der Infrastruktur ein erfahrenes Team in den Bereichen Geotechnik, Tunnelbau sowie Aus- und Weiterbildung in untertägigen Infrastrukturen. 

Prof. Dr. Robert Galler

Departmentleiter

Von 1997 bis 2007 arbeitete Robert Galler bei GEOCONSULT, einem internationalen Planer und Berater für Geotechnik und Hohlraumbau. Seine Erfahrung umfasst zahlreiche nationale und internationale Forschungs- und Beratungsprojekte. Robert Galler ist seit dem Jahr 2000 Mitglied des Vorstandes der ÖGG - Österreichische Gesellschaft für Geomechanik; seit 2005 vertritt er Österreich in der ITA - International Tunneling Association. Seit 2013 ist Robert Galler Vorsitzender des ITA-CET, dem Ausschuss für Kommunikation und Ausbildung innerhalb der ITA.

Ing. Bernhard Reinwald

Sicherheitsbeauftragter

Bernhard Reinwald absolvierte 2018 die Matura im Fachbereich Rohstofftechnik an der HTL Leoben. Nachdem er seinen Grundwehrdienst beim Jägerbatallion 18 in St. Michael i.O. leistete, ist er an der Montanuniversität Leoben für die Sicherheit und den Betrieb am Zentrum am Berg zuständig. 

Dipl.-Ing. Robert Wenighofer

 

DI Robert Wenighofer ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering seit 2014 und ist seit 1989 im Vermessungs- und Markscheidewesen tätig (DI Umlauf, ZT OG Loschnigg-Dachsberger). Er befasst sich beruflich und wissenschaftlich mit Nahbereichsfotogrammetrie, Laserscanning, CAD und Rohstoffprojekten und wirkt bei zahlreichen wissenschaftlichen Projekten des Lehrstuhls für Subsurface Engineering mit.

Assoz.-Prof. Dr. Marlene Villeneuve

 

Marlène Villeneuve schloss ihre PhD 2008 an der Queen's University, in Kanada, ab. Danach arbeitete sie zwei Jahre als Tunnelingenieurin für McMillan Jacobs Associates in den USA und Australien. Von 2010-2020 war sie Lecturer, Senior Lecturer und schließlich Associate Professor für Felsmechanik an der University of Canterbury, Neuseeland. Seit 2020 ist sie am Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering tätig und konzentriert sich auf Lehre und Forschung in den Bereichen Felsmechanik und numerische Modellierung.

Michael Mrazek

 

Michael unterstützt das Team nach seiner abgeschlossenen Maschinenbaulehre und seiner langjährigen Berufserfahrung in diesem Bereich, das Team am Zentrum am Berg in sämtlichen technischen Angelegenheiten. 

Inz.-Mech. Ktn Aliaksei Patsekha

 

Aliaksei Patsekha machte seine Ausbildung in den Fachbereichen Technologie, Ausrüstung und Automatisierung des Maschinenbaus, sowie im Bereich der Prävention und Beseitigung von Notfällen an den Universitäten von Belarus. Im Jahr 2017 promovierte er (als Kandidat der Ingenieurwissenschaften) zum Thema Brand- und Industriesicherheit an der Universität für Zivilschutz des Ministeriums für Notsituationen der Republik Belarus. Seit Juni 2020 arbeitet Aliaksei Patsekha als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering. Seine Forschungsinteressen liegen im Bereich Branddynamik und Tunnelbrandschutz.

Ing. Jörg Krainz

 

Von 1993 – 1997 arbeitete Jörg Krainz als Facharbeiter (Papiertechniker) bei der Firma Brigl & Bergmeister in Niklasdorf. Von 1998 – 2009 war Jörg Krainz bei der Firma RHI Magnesita im Technologie Center Leoben, in der Abteilung Physik beschäftigt. Seine Aufgabenstellungen waren; Untersuchungen an Feuerfestprodukten, Weiterentwicklung an Prüfverfahren und die Mitarbeit an F&E Projekten. Nach dem Besuch der Abendschule für Maschinenbau & Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen ist Jörg Krainz an der Montanuniversität Leoben am Lehrstuhl Subsurface Engineering als Laborleiter beschäftigt.

Dipl.-Ing. Erik Schuller

 

Erik Schuller ist Absolvent der Studienrichtung Bergwesen an der Montanuniversität Leoben. Seit 2004 ist er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und seit 2010 Senior Lecturer am Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering. Neben der Mitarbeit bei zahlreichen Projekten ist Erik Schuller vor allem in der Lehre mit den Schwerpunkten Bodenmechanik und numerische Simulationen von geotechnischen Fragestellungen tätig.

Ing. Peter Schwab

Fachberater

Peter Schwab unterstützte durch seine langjährige Hoch- und Tiefbauerfahrung das Team während der gesamten Bauphase des ZaB und steht dem gesamten Kollegium nun als Berater und Trainer in sämtlichen fachbezogenen Fragestellungen zur Seite.

Patrizia Gäbler

 

Patritzia Gäbler ist seit 1.12.2022 am Lehrstuhl Subsurface Engineering als Projektassistentin beschäftigt. Ihre Aufgabe ist die Entlastung der Projektleiterin oder des Projektleiters und die Unterstützung des Teams bei Projekten.

Aurora Camacho

 

Aurora Camacho, eine Bachelor-Studentin an der Montanuniversität Leoben, unterstützt seit dem Sommersemester 2022 als studentische Mitarbeiterin amLehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering das Team bei laufenden Projekten und anderen anstehenden Aufgaben.

Aliaa Hammoud

 

Aliaa Hammoud hat einen BSc in Geologie von der American University of Beirut im Libanon und einen MSc in Petroleum Production Engineering von der University of Leeds im Vereinigten Königreich. Seit 2022 arbeitet sie als Universitätsassistentin am Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering an ihrer Promotion. Ihre Forschungsinteressen liegen in den Bereichen Bohrtechnik, Bohrlochmessung, Geothermie und maschinelles Lernen.

 

Arsham Karsh A. Moayedi Far

 

Arsham ist als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering tätig. Sein Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf der Untersuchung der geomechanischen, ökologischen und wirtschaftlichen Aspekte von H2-Geospeichern. Arsham hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Bergbauingenieurwesen. Darüber hinaus erwarb er einen M.Sc. in Tunnel und unterirdischen Räumen und verfügt über umfassende Fachkenntnisse in den Bereichen numerische Modellierung, PBEE, KI  und ML sowie in der Durchführung von Labortests an FRC-Proben.

Samira Tourey

 

Samira Tourey ist Bachelorstudentin an der Montanuniversität Leoben in der Studienrichtung Rohstoffingenieurwesen und seit Herbst 2023 am Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering. Als studentische Mitarbeiterin wirkt sie an diversen Projekten mit und unterstützt auch bei sonstigen anfallenden Tätigkeiten am Lehrstuhl.

Daniel Schneider

 

Als Absolvent einer HTL für Maschinen- und Anlagenbau und folgender Ausbildung zum Rettungssanitäter stieg Daniel Schneider 2022 ins Masterstudium Geotechnik & Tunnelbau ein und unterstützt seither das Team des Subsurface Engineering Instituts sowie das Zentrum am Berg als studentischer Mitarbeiter. Praxiserfahrung sammelte er u.a. in der ÖBA des Semmering-Basistunnels in Gloggnitz und beschäftigt sich derzeit mit Themen der Digitalisierung sowie der Tunnelausbruchverwertung.

Dipl.-Ing. Alexandros Evangelatos

 

Als Universitätsassistent am Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering ist Alexandros Evangelatos seit November 2022 in Lehre und Forschung tätig. Nach Abschluss seines Masterstudiums in Geotechnik und Tunnelbau an der Montanuniversität Leoben widmet er sich in seiner Dissertation alternativen Bewehrungsformen für den Tunnelbau, insbesondere Stahl- und Kunststoff-Faserbetontübbingen.

Dipl.-Ing. Elisabeth Hauzinger

 

Elisabeth Hauzinger diplomierte im Jahr 2021 im Studium “Angewandte Geowissenschaften“ an der Montanuniversität Leoben, und unterstützt seither das Team des Lehrstuhls für Subsurface Engineering als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Bereich der Nachhaltigkeit im Untertagebau. Für ihre Dissertation untersucht sie vor allem neue und nachhaltige Einsatzgebiete für Ausbruchmaterialien.

DI Dr. Gerhard Pittino

 

Ingenieurausbildung an der HTBLuVA-Villach, Studium des Bauingenieurwesens und Sponsion an der Technischen Universität Graz (TUG). Seit 1993 an der Montanuniversität Leoben (MUL) als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Lehrbeauftragter. Am FH Technikum Kärnten 1997 /98 Lektor für „Grundbau und Bodenmechanik“. Promotion zum Doktor der montanistischen Wissenschaften an der MUL (Tragverhalten des Gesamtsystems: Alpines Salzgebirge-Grubengebäude-Laugungsrückstand)  Forschungsschwerpunkte: Langzeit-Materialverhalten von Geomaterialien; Versuche, Parameteridentifikation und numerische Berechnungen.

Christoph Mörtinger

 

Christoph Mörtinger ist studentischer Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering. 2018 hat er die HTL Krems, im Fachbereich Tiefbau, abgeschlossen und hat 2019 mit dem Studium Rohstoffingenieurwesen an der Montanuniversität Leoben begonnen. Seit April 2023 unterstützt er das gesamte Team bei verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten.

Dr.mont. Mario Weitzer

 

Mario Weitzer kommt aus St. Peter Freienstein (bei Leoben) und studierte Mathematik an der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz. Sein Doktorat in Mathematik erhielt er 2015 im Rahmen des FWF Doktoratskollegs "Diskrete Mathematik" an der Montanuniversität Leoben. Vor seinem Wechsel an den Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering im März 2024, beforschte er in seinem FWF Einzelprojekt "Arithmetische dynamische Systeme, Polynome und Polytope" die titelgebenden Themen an der Technischen Universität Graz und der Montanuniversität Leoben. Heute arbeitet er in den Bereichen 3d-Simulation, Virtuelle Realität und maschinelles Lernen.

Marco Huymajer

 

Marco Huymajer absolvierte das Masterstudium Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik an der TU Wien und war beruflich in der Softwareentwicklung tätig. Als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering arbeitet er an mehreren Projekten im Bereich der Digitalisierung des Tunnelbaus. Sein Forschungsinteresse liegt in der Anwendung von Datenmodellierung und Data Science auf Problemstellungen im Bauingenieurwesen und im Tunnelbau.

Ranzhu Wei

 

Ranzhu Wei hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Sicherheitstechnik von der China University of Geoscience und einen Master-Abschluss in Umweltgesundheit und -sicherheit von der National University of Singapore. Sie ist Doktorandin an der Montanuniversität Leoben, Österreich. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Reduzierung der Feinstaubkonzentration beim Tunnelbau durch Zwangsbelüftung.

Sophie Neuhold

 

Sophie Neuhold, Bachelor-Studentin an der Montanuniversität Leoben, unterstützt seit Sommer 2022 als studentische Mitarbeiterin den Lehrstuhl für Subsurface Engineering und das Team bei diversen Projekten und Aufgaben.